Fact sheet: How the National Electricity Market works

3 min

The National Electricity Market (NEM) spans Australia’s eastern and south-eastern coasts, a distance of approximately 5,000 kilometres, and comprises of five interconnected states that also act as price regions: Queensland, New South Wales (including the Australian Capital Territory), South Australia, Victoria, and Tasmania.

AEMO is responsible for monitoring electricity consumption and the flow of energy across the power system and controls the NEM via two identical control centres in different states.

We have developed a new, comprehensive factsheet to explain how the NEM works below:

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.