

Minutes

Meeting:	AEMO Procedure Change Working Group (APCWG)
Date:	Wednesday, 21 February 2024
Time:	9.30am – 11.30am
Location:	Virtual meeting
Teleconference details:	MS Teams

Attendees:

Attendees:	
Name	Company
Alireza Fereidouni	AEMO
Amey Uppal	Res Group
Amy Tait	WA Government
Anna McGinnis	Res Group
Andrew Scarfone	Perth Energy
Bassem Berrached	Collgar Renewables
Bec Ngooi	Synergy
Belinda White	Alinta Energy
Ben Wu	Alinta Energy
Brooke Edwards	AEMO
Cath Chalmers	Neoen
Chayan Gunendran	Collgar
Charles Loh	Shell
Christina Madsen	AEMO
Denny Krajancic	Alinta Energy
Dean Frost	Western Power
Denis Vukasinovic	Collgar Renewables
Donna Todesco	AEMO
Ehsan Razavi	AEMO
Erdem Oz	EPWA
Eva Mitchell	Amanda Energy
Ganesh Anandan	Talison Lithium
Genevieve Teo	Synergy
Gerry Devereux	AEMO
Graeme Ross	Simcoa Operations
Grace Liu	AEMO
Irina Stankov	ERA
Jake Flynn	Collgar Renewables
Jay Williams	WA Government



Laura TomkinsAEMOLeon ChewAlintaLeon D'AudretschERALoke LengEPWALucy WuSouth 32Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergy	rbon and Energy
Jenny Laidlaw Julian Fairhall Kailei McCrea Bluewaters Katrina Burns Liz Aitken Empire Cal Laura Tomkins AEMO Leon Chew Alinta Leon D'Audretsch ERA Loke Leng EPWA Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen ERA EPWA Energy Trai	rbon and Energy
Julian Fairhall Kailei McCrea Bluewaters Katrina Burns Enel X Aus Liz Aitken Empire Ca Laura Tomkins AEMO Leon Chew Alinta Leon D'Audretsch ERA Loke Leng EPWA Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn APA Group Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen	rbon and Energy
Kailei McCreaBluewatersKatrina BurnsEnel X AusLiz AitkenEmpire CalLaura TomkinsAEMOLeon ChewAlintaLeon D'AudretschERALoke LengEPWALucy WuSouth 32Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	rbon and Energy
Katrina Burns Enel X Aus Liz Aitken Empire Ca Laura Tomkins AEMO Leon Chew Alinta Leon D'Audretsch ERA Loke Leng EPWA Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn APA Group Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen Energy Train	rbon and Energy
Liz Aitken Empire Cal Laura Tomkins AEMO Leon Chew Alinta Leon D'Audretsch ERA Loke Leng EPWA Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn APA Group Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen Energy Tra	rbon and Energy
Laura TomkinsAEMOLeon ChewAlintaLeon D'AudretschERALoke LengEPWALucy WuSouth 32Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	
Leon ChewAlintaLeon D'AudretschERALoke LengEPWALucy WuSouth 32Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	
Leon D'AudretschERALoke LengEPWALucy WuSouth 32Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	
Loke Leng EPWA Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn APA Group Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen Energy Tra	
Lucy Wu South 32 Luisa Thorburn APA Group Luke McDonald Synergy Matthew Bowen Energy Tra	
Luisa ThorburnAPA GroupLuke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	
Luke McDonaldSynergyMatthew BowenEnergy Tra	
Matthew Bowen Energy Tra	
Mark McKinnon Western Po	nsformations
	ower
Mark Riley AGL	
Mena Gilchrist (Chair) AEMO	
Nabil Ata Alinta Ener	gy
Nadine Pizarra Alinta Ener	gy
Natalia Kostecki AEMO	
Neeti Muralidharan Res Group	
Neetika Kapani AEMO	
Neil Canby Sunrise En	ergy Group
Oscar Carlberg Alinta Ener	gy
Paul Arias Shell	
Penny Ling Metro Pow	er Company
Phillipe Orhan Neoen	
Rebecca Petchey AEMO	
Rob Chandler Western Po	ower
Sam Dodd Infigen Ene	ergy
Sam Jurat Amanda E	nergy
Sarah Graham AEMO	
Scott Cornish Enel X Aus	tralia
Sean Lim Shell	
Stephane Dellac AEMO	
Stuart Dodds APA	
Sue Franke Tesla	
Tiana Karabatic Bluewaters	
Tessa Liddelow Shell	
Tinna Needham Western Po	ower
Valentina Kogon Western Po	ower



1 Welcome

- Mena Gilchrist (Chair) opened the meeting with an acknowledgement of country.
- Stakeholders were reminded that the session is being recorded.
- Mena introduced Gerry Devereux, Ehsan Razavi and Rebecca Petchey from AEMO who presented on the proposed amendments to the WEM Procedures.

2 WEM Procedure: Indicative Facility Class

- Gerry provided the APCWG with some background noting the changes are needed due to the 13
 December 2023 updates to the WEM Rules for the Expression of Interest process and the Indicative Facility Class Assessment.
- AEMO is proposing updates to the IFC assessment and intermittency assessment to remove ambiguities.
- Gerry provided an explanation of the changes for non-scheduled facilities and scheduled/semi-scheduled facilities.
- There are also minor formatting updates included.
- Consultation was released on 9 February 2024 with submissions closing on 1 March 2024.
- More information can be found on EPWA's website.
- Attendees were invited to ask questions or provide feedback. While no questions or feedback was
 provided at the meeting, the presenter reminded attendees that they can be contacted directly to discuss
 the proposed changes.

3 WEM Procedure: Frequency Co-Optimised Essential System Services

- Ehsan noted that AEMO was proposing changes to FCESS due to experiences and market feedback.
- Ehsan provided a background on the changes which included the addition of general performance
 requirements, inclusion of acceptable Speed Factor range for Continency Reserve Raise (CRR), delay
 response requirement of Block Response for CRR, clarification on the Registered Generator Performance
 Standards (GPS) for RoCoF Ride-Through Capability Accreditation.
- Consultation was released on 19 February 2024 with submissions closing on 12 March 2024.
- More information can be found on EPWA's website.
- Attendees were invited to ask questions or provide feedback. While no questions or feedback was
 provided at the meeting, the presenter reminded attendees that they can be contacted directly to discuss
 the proposed changes.

4 Certification of Reserve Capacity

- Rebecca provided a background on the changes noting that the 13 December 2023 updates to the WEM
 Rules require changes to the Certified Reserve Capacity process for the 2024 Reserve Capacity Cycle.
- The key changes include the assessment method for Demand Side Programmes and updated outage calculations.



- AEMO intends to release the WEM Procedure for consultation on 28 February 2024 and submissions will close on 28 March 2024.
- More information will be available on AEMO's website.
- Attendees were invited to ask questions or provide feedback. While no questions or feedback was
 provided at the meeting, the presenter reminded attendees that they can be contacted directly to discuss
 the proposed changes.

5 Next Steps and Other Business

- Stakeholders are invited to submit written responses to the Procedure consultations to <u>wa.marketdevelopment@aemo.com.au</u> by 5pm on the closing dates.
- There being no other business, the meeting was closed at 10.05am